A Complaint Free World?

26 Jan

My husband says I complain a lot.  It might be true.  But it is fun.  And funny (to me anyways!).  So, imagine my intrigue when I hear of “A Complaint Free World”.  Let me preface by saying that that doesn’t sound like any fun to me…and also, virtually impossible.  

I learned there is this “movement” of people striving for a complaint free world.  There is a website: http://www.acomplaintfreeworld.org .  There is a book.  There is a 1-hour “Complaint Free Living” DVD.  There is a bracelet.  All of that makes me want to complain!  The homepage of the site has a quote from Maya Angelou:

“If you don’t like something change it.  If you can’t change it change your attitude.”  

Well, this I agree with.  But no complaining?  Really?  

I learned some of the details from a patient of mine:  you wear the bracelet on your wrist.  When you complain, you switch the bracelet to the other wrist…and so on, and so on, and so on, ad infinitum until you are able to make it to 21 consecutive days without complaining. The church in Kansas where this originated then sends you a “Certificate of Happiness”.  Hmmm…was I not happy before?  

What constitutes a complaint, you ask?  Well, according to this patient pretty much anything, including whining… The only thing you can say are “statements of fact”.  For example:  “I have a headache”  is allowed.  This is a fact.  “My head is killing me.” and  “Oh, my aching head.” –Not allowed–all complaints.

I am both oddly intrigued by the challenge (which I know for damn sure I will not achieve any time in the near future) and intimidated by it.  Are there going to be “anti-complainers” out there attacking me much like PETA attacks fur-lovers?  Should I try it just to be more aware of what I already know is a borderline excessive problem of mine?  I know my husband would like it, but would I?  What would I talk about?  Would I have less to contribute to the conversation?  

Does anyone have any experience with A Complaint Free World?  I would love to hear more…

5 Responses to “A Complaint Free World?”

  1. Mike January 27, 2009 at 1:34 am #

    Complaint free? What’s the point? Where’s the fun in that?

    Oh, and by the way, welcome to the blogosphere. It’s a fun place to be!

  2. Lynn January 27, 2009 at 10:24 am #

    first time blogger here so be patient. “complain free world”??? that reminds me of a popular phase in the 90’s (at least i think it was the 90’s) where people were blabbing “Dont Worry Be Happy”. I dont know about anyone else, but that didnt make the world a happy shiny place to be, am i right? i wish good luck to anyone who concures “A Complain Free World”. i will try my best to limit my complaints, but dont go buying me that bracelet (way too much work). good stuff

    • michgal18 January 27, 2009 at 10:43 am #

      I was thinking if I had the bracelet, I would probably be better leaving it off all day, with the rate that I would be switching it back and forth!

  3. Katrina Q January 29, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    I have to agree with you, I LOVE complaining! It’s especially fun when you can go on a several minute rant about all the things that are bothering you… For example, yesterday was miserable, snowy/rainy day, I had to walk all the way across campus in ankle deep slush, in a new pair of rain boots that happened to spring a leak that day. So I was cold, wet, and now had slish-sloshy wet socks and shoes…

    Complaining is fun, but whining really bothers me!

    • michgal18 January 29, 2009 at 6:25 pm #

      oh my, I LOVED that rant. Thank you, thank you, thank you!! Complaining IS fun…and funny, just like I always say!

Leave a Reply

