100 Things About Me

29 Jan

I am taking a lot of leads from my freader, Mike, as to what to blog about while I am just getting started….so, here’s everything you probably didn’t want to know about me.

1.  I was born on May 2, 1978 in Wilmington, DE

2.  I was an accident.  A big one.  I’m OK with it.

3.  I wish I was taller.

4.  I have two older sisters.

5.  My parents divorced when I was two.

6.  My father died when I was seven.  I didn’t really know him.

7.  I went to Catholic School all my life (even college)!

8.  I do not believe in or agree with the Roman Catholic Church (the irony is not lost on me).

9.  I was salutatorian of my high school class.

10.  I played soccer from the age of seven through college.  As a whole, playing soccer is probably something in my life that I have loved the most.

11.  I miss playing soccer and being part of a team.

12.  At Sacred Heart, I am 5th for career goals scored, 3rd for career assists, and 4th for career points.

13.  I have a B.S. in Psychology with an Honors minor and a Masters of Science in Physical Therapy.

14.  I have been to Australia.  It is the only place I have been out of the country.

15.  I would really love to travel more.  A LOT more.

16.  One of my favorite things about travelling is the food.

17.  I am insanely jealous of anyone that can play a musical instrument.  Or sing.  Basically anyone with any kind of musical talent.

18.  I think I am a realist.

19.  I think some people think I am a pessimist.

20.  Just because I complain, doesn’t mean I am unhappy.

21.  I am your “brutally honest friend”.  I tell you if you have something in your teeth, if your fly is down, or if your clothes don’t match.

22.  I love surprises.

23.  My favorite color is blue.

24.  I have a hard time with girly girls.  I think I would rather be with a bunch of guys than one girly girl.

25.  I am an aunt.  I have 4 nephews and a niece, ages 10-14.

26.  My first date with my husband was August 5, 2002.  It lasted for 12 hours.  It was the first “true” date I had (and have) ever been on.  (was that 3 things??)

27.  I called my sister as soon as I left that date and told her I met the man I was going to marry.  My husband took a little longer to come to that conclusion.

28.  I was married on June 28, 2008.

29.  My wedding was the most wonderful, perfect day I could ever have imagined.

First Kiss!

30.  I think I am a good wedding planner.

31.  I wanted to move away to somewhere that didn’t have a winter until that first date.

32.  I now live in Niantic, Connecticut.  It is very cold here in the winter (especially this winter!).

33.  I love to laugh.

34.  I don’t think I laugh enough.

35.  I think my in-laws are wonderful people!

36.  I think I am addicted to Facebook.

37.  I might be becoming addicted to blogging.

38.  I REALLY, REALLY want to be on Amazing Race.  I don’t think I have a sad enough/tragic enough/strange enough story to ever get picked, but I haven’t tried out.

39.  If I was on Amazing Race, I would team up with my sister Jill.  I think we would do well, especially with directions as we both possess the amazing power of echolocation.

Top of Cadillac Mountain, Bar Harbor, ME

40.  If I went on Amazing Race with my husband we would probably be divorced by the end of it!  🙂

41.  The most amazing place I have been to in the U.S. is the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone.

42.  I have gotten beads in New Orleans the traditional way.

BEADS!

43.  I had to work extra hard for the big ones!

44.  I have known my best friend since I was 3 and she was 2. (fyi: that is a tatoo of ME on her arm {temporary}.  Only the best of best friends make tatoos of you for your bachelorette party!)

My BFF

45.  I really hope Friday Night Lights never gets cancelled

46.  I love reality TV.  It makes me feel a little better about myself.

47.  I wish I could swim.  I mean, I can SWIM, but I can’t swim from point A to point B.  It is a whole different skill set that I don’t possess.

48.  I wish I had abs of steel.

49.  My favorite features about me are my eyes and my smile

50.  My favorite features of my husband are his eyes and his lips.

51.  I have a hard time with people with bad teeth.

52.  I also have a hard time with people who smell.  And being a PT, I know there are a lot of people who smell.

53.  I am lost with “Lost”, but continue to persevere.  GIVE ME ANSWERS, ALREADY!!

54.  I wish I had the drive to complete a marathon.

55.  I usually read between 60-70 books a year.  I am already off to a bad start in 2009 because of Crackbook and blogging.

56.  I want to be a mom.  Big time.

57.  I think my husband is going to be the best dad!  Now I just need to get him to buy into that!

58.  I am scared to have a little girl.  What if she doesn’t like me when she is older?

59.  I admire my sister as a sister, a friend, a mom, a wife, and a business woman.  She is a very good role model for someone that doesn’t know how to be these things.

60.  I like to cook.  I try a new recipe almost every week.

61.  I think it would be fun to have an Iron Chef competition with my friends.  Who’s in?

62.  I think 100 is a lot.

63.  The fact that I am struggling at 60 things about me makes me think I may need to develop myself more.

64.  I wish I didn’t have to be good at everything I do.  I think it limits me trying new things because I am afraid.

65.  I wish I could make money doing something creative, like writing or taking pictures.

66.  I wish I could golf.  Even a little bit.

67.  Sometimes I just want to have a bad day.  My job doesn’t let me.

68.  I wonder why some people need to be in a relationship to feel loved.

69.   I am thinking of sexual references right now.

70.  I am an excellent speller.  I think I would be a good editor.  I love editing papers for people!

71.  I have gray hairs.  Oh dear god…

72.  I have some definite OCD tendencies, but I use them for powers of good.

73.  I participated in a team triathlon with my sister in Bar Harbor last year (2008).  I ran 4 miles, she biked 13 and we canoed 4.  We also dumped the canoe.  That’s all that needs to be said about that.

74.  I am extremely competitive.  To a fault sometimes.  My heart rate and blood pressure go up playing Cranium.

75.  I have ridden 2 mechanical bulls.  One in New Orleans, one in Boston.  I had to be the best, so in New Orleans I walked away with cut up hands and bruises all over my thighs because I wouldn’t let go.  It’s all about the legs!

76.  My dream vacation is a hut over the ocean with a trap door in the floor that you can open and drop right in.

77.  I do not think I will ever go on that vacation.

78.  I have taken 2 sick days since I started working in the real world 6 years ago.

79.  My husband and I, as well as about 12 other friends and family members, have season tickets to UConn Football.

80.  I HEART Lush.  If you don’t know what that means, you should go to their site.  I use their soaps, face lotion, toner, and face scrub.

81.  I do not give people the benefit of the doubt.  I am probably a little tough on you until I get to know you.

82.  I do the Sunday Crossword in The Day every week.  I have completed it once.

83.  I like to give greeting cards.  It is unexpected and it always makes people smile (at least I like to think it does, unless it is a mean card).

84.  When I was little, my mother made me dust as one of my “chores”.  She had so many chotchkies EVERYWHERE.  I would dust around them, and then she would check and say that I didn’t move everything when I dusted.  That is why I have a hideous aversion to dusting now.  Classical conditioning gets you every time!

85.  She also made me iron her clothes.  I think I got paid 5o cents per piece.  This may explain my aversion to ironing as well.  Does this qualify as child labor?

86.  I think my pregnant friends are just about the most adorable things EVER!

87.  I think too hard and too much…hence my blog title.

88.  I have been to Disney World/Epcot once when I was younger.  The only things I remember were the haunted house ride and the roller coaster with the fake rocks that look like they were falling on you.  I think it was like a gold mining ride or something?  Anybody?  Oh yeah, and Figment of your Imagination at Epcot.  I love Figment.

89.  I have an irrational fear of ice skating.  Well, not completely irrational.  When I was younger I fell roller skating and I someone ran over my finger.  I had to stick it in a Sno-Cone (unflavored).  Now I feel that if I fall ice skating (which I will), someone will skate over my hand and cut off my finger.  Then I met someone who’s friend lost his finger that way.  I will never ice skate.

90.  I also have an irrational fear that when I am driving in the summertime with all the windows down, a bird will fly into my car and not be able to fly out.  Simple physics, bird flying in a straight line, car moving forward—disaster.  It has come close to happening a few times!

91.  I LOVE my friends.  I don’t tell them enough, or maybe at all…but I do.

92.  My absolute favorite food is the native summer tomato. Most fave plain with salt, second most fave caprese salad.

93.  My husband brought me a tomato on our third date.  It is the best random gift I have ever gotten!

94.  My favorite band is U2.  They are far and away the best concert band I have ever seen.

95.  I have touched Bono.  I was one girl away from the girl he brings on stage to serenade.  I can hardly think about how close I was!

96.  I would like Rob Thomas to be my baby daddy.  No strings attached.

97.  I am a Pats fan.  Not because of the bandwagon, because I am from Massachusetts.

98.  I am good at keeping secrets.

99.  I feel like #100 should be something really great and I am having some trouble thinking of what that could possibly be!

…..oh boy….

100.   There is ALOT I haven’t told you…

11 Responses to “100 Things About Me”

  1. Mike January 29, 2009 at 8:28 pm #

    You are a natural….what a great way to end. Seriously. Good stuff!

  2. michgal18 January 29, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    aww…THANKS!

  3. Lauren Provencher January 30, 2009 at 9:31 am #

    I saw a link to this on Facebook (fellow addict here) – great job! This is an awesome list. Talk about having a lot of facets to your personality! You’re a natural at this blog thing. Keep it up 🙂

    • michgal18 January 30, 2009 at 5:27 pm #

      Thank you, thank you! I am glad you enjoyed and I will keep it up, even though it is consuming my life and causing my husband to reprimand me for the amount of time I am on the computer. I don’t care–I’m having fun!!

  4. Kristen January 31, 2009 at 7:53 am #

    Wow! A whole lot of information here and would love to touch on it all….but I’m really stuck on two things. 1) YES! I do believe in your “brutal honesty” however, I rely on that testiment so don’t ever get soft on me. 2) YES! You would be a fabulous editor as I don’t think you’ve spelled a single word wrong YET! To be honest, I’m not sure you ever will.
    Thanks for sharing the facts…great stuff!

  5. Lynn February 3, 2009 at 11:56 am #

    #61-I’m in!

    • michgal18 February 3, 2009 at 11:59 am #

      Yes!! I think we need a few more peeps…and who would pick the secret ingredient? and this might be hard after you have a baby. So we will probably have to do it this weekend! LOL!!

  6. Jill February 7, 2009 at 2:41 pm #

    5 things for you to blog about . . .
    1) favorite books
    2) favorite movies
    3) ‘funny’ mother stories
    4) your sisters 🙂
    5) can you write the story for my pmc page then write a blog with a link to promote it?

    Shameless self-promotion–LOVE IT!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Hell That is the Baby Shower « I’m Thinking Too Hard! - January 31, 2009

    […] I understand that the baby shower is mandatory–how else do you get the car seats and strollers and onesies and binkies and everything else you need to bring a new life into the world?  I get it.  What I don’t get is how the need for the COUPLE to get the things they need to sustain a life has morphed into a women only event (please see #24 in About Me). […]

  2. Favorite F’s « I’m Thinking Too Hard! - February 5, 2009

    […]  FICTION  I LOVE Fiction (really, reading in general).  For those that read my 100 things, you know this already.  You also know that my computer is sucking my life energy and it has been […]

  3. All About Amy « I’m Thinking Too Hard! - February 7, 2009

    […] sister-in-law felt a little slighted that in a list of 100 Things About Me I mentioned myself (obviously), my husband (duh), my in-laws, my bestie, but not her.  So here, […]

Leave a Reply

