Five Guys? Yes, Please!

4 Feb

As some of you may know (mainly because I have been talking about it for the last two days), I took myself out to dinner at Five Guys Burgers and Fries in Mystic tonight.  I have been on a burger hiatus for about two weeks preparing for this burger.

Yesterday, I looked up the Five Guys menu to prep for the visit.  I sometimes get a little overwhelmed if there is a long line of people behind me and I don’t know what I want.  Luckily, the menu is pretty straightforward.  The take-out menu fits on just half a page of paper.  

So…you walk in the door and it is your pretty straightforward “diner” like atmosphere.  Red and white tiles, tables and a “bar” that runs around 2 walls.  You are welcome to help yourself to peanuts while you wait and you are welcome to throw the shells on the floor.  And you are welcome to some kind of near death reaction if you have a peanut allergy.  I wouldn’t recommend this place for the peanut allergic out there.  There is a sign on the door that warns you not to take the peanuts home due to neighborhood children who may have peanut allergies.  They don’t seem to care as much about those people who walk into the restaurant with a peanut allergy–so take heed!

I felt well prepared when I ordered, thanks to my extensive research.  I went with the bacon cheeseburger with tomatoes, pickles, ketchup and mustard.  And fries.  Lots and lots of fries.  Now, let’s clarify that the “little” burger choices are in fact your regular burger, and the “regular” burger choices are in fact double burgers.  Very misleading…  

I opted for the “regular” burger to so my first experience would be the full experience (Go Big or Go Home!!).  Henceforth, though, I will be going with the “little” burger because I just ate a LOT of meat.  But it was good meat.  It was a really good burger.  I kinda loved it.

The fries…the fries deserve their very own paragraph.  The main part of the restaurant has sacks of potatoes piled it up that they use for their fresh cut fries.  The blackboard announced that today’s fries were from Idaho Falls, Idaho, in case you were wondering.  The “cup” they put the fries in is pretty much a formality, b/c there are so many stinking fries that they basically just run loose in the bag that they serve the food in.  One person can’t and/or shouldn’t eat a regular order of fries on their own.  I can’t even get my head around a large order of fries.  Anywho, turns out fresh cut fries are pretty delicious, even more so with a little malt vinegar…YUM.

So, I will be back.  Though I won’t be as much of a glutton next time.  And it is definitely something you should try…but if you are like me, you might want to take a look at the menu and pick your toppings first!!

5 Responses to “Five Guys? Yes, Please!”

  1. Mike February 4, 2009 at 8:25 pm #

    You had a regular burger? wow. Very impressive! And, yeah, the fries. Mmmm. Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

    • michgal18 February 4, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

      yup. Regular. I am a pig. My hairdresser talked me into it. Oink, oink, oink.

  2. Kristen February 4, 2009 at 8:48 pm #

    I LOVE IT! “Go big or go home!” I’m so proud… *tear*

  3. Sara February 5, 2009 at 8:54 am #

    The fries are amazing!

  4. Lynn February 5, 2009 at 9:27 am #

    loving burgers right now, so i think i may have to take a trip to Mystic.

    Oh, mama–the baby will LOVE it!!

Leave a Reply

