Gym Watching…

28 Feb

Alright, I think that besides the Foxwoods Atrium, the gym is my favorite place to people watch.  

There could quite possible be more stupid people per capita at the gym then any other place I can think of.  And it doesn’t even matter what gym, they will be there.  I would like to give some props to people getting off the couch to work out, but maybe they should do some research before they decide to start lifting weights.

I know how to work out.  I am an orthopedic physical therapist, so it goes with the territory.  This makes people watching all the more fun.  

I usually start on the treadmill.  Today, some kid decided to pull up on the treadmill next to me.  In Vans.  VANS!!!  WTF?  Please, please, please don’t ever run in Vans!  First, because they are just horrible for your feet.  Second, YOU SOUND LIKE A CLYDESDALE ON THE TREADMILL.  All the dirty looks in the world could not get this kid off the treadmill.  When I can hear your feet over my headphones, it is not good.  And I want to kill you.  I was contemplating moving treadmills, which is the total pits because you don’t get an accurate idea of what you have done.  I decided if I just turned up the volume, maybe I could tolerate this kid.  He could only run about 1 minute before he had to put his hand on the rails and take a break.  I was giving him 10 minutes, figuring he couldn’t last much longer than that.  I could do this for 10 minutes.  Then, a woman jumps on the treadmill to my left.  While I am shooting daggers at Vans boy, I smell cigarettes.  This woman smells like a freaking pack of cigarettes.  Why do you smoke a cigarette immediately before you get on the treadmill?  Oh yeah, because you are STUPID!  So, I moved.  Grrrr.

The most common place to see stupid people?  The lat-pulldown machine.  I don’t know who started this “pull the bar behind your head” business, but whoever that person was is STUPID.  For God’s sake, the directions are right on the machine!  Pull in front!  I just want to leave my card right by that machine with a note that says “If you are pulling the bar behind your head, please call me when you can’t feel your arms and/or turn your head anymore”.  

According to my gym motto, I am apparently not supposed to be judging people.  Oops.  Lucky for me, they can’t stop what goes on in my head.  And it is a lot.  And if you are at the gym, just know that I am probably watching you.  And if you aren’t at my gym, just know that someone else is probably watching you.

8 Responses to “Gym Watching…”

  1. Mike February 28, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

    Ah, gym watching…a great blog topic. fun stuff.

    • michgal18 February 28, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

      I feel like there is so much more to say…but I just don’t know how to put it into words….LOL….

  2. Kristen February 28, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    Ok…thanks for making me feel like the FREAK people are laughing at!!! However, with my new magic sneakers, hopefully I won’t be the one sounding like a Clydesdale 🙂
    More great stuff, Mich…..lovin’ it!

  3. Shayla February 28, 2009 at 7:16 pm #

    I too love people watching at the gym and the airport! When I lived in San Diego I found much amusement in the outfits people wore, or did not wear, to work out in. Lycra was a popular choice along with Tiffany’s jewelry and head to toe matching.
    The gym I go to in Westerly is pretty tame outfit wise but I too have seen some odd work-outs! The lat pull down behind the head is a big one as well as too much weight and out of control speed while lifting. The grunters are always a good laugh too! or the guy who loads the leg press to its max with 45 punders and then sits and stares at it for 20 minutes to finally only press out 1 rep of 10!

    I guess you stay in business Michelle…

    • michgal18 February 28, 2009 at 9:24 pm #

      ohhhh….the outfits….that might be a whole ‘nother blog!!

  4. Helen March 1, 2009 at 11:04 am #

    I was just telling a friend that last week at the gym I saw a guy drinking his DD, reading a book, wearing headphones on one of the treadmills with the TV attached. Seriously? What is your point dude? You can’t possibly be doing any of those things well.

    • michgal18 March 1, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

      you go to Planet Fitness too?? How ’bout the lady that reads the paper on the treadmill and then just drops each section on the floor all around her when she is done. She ends up taking up 2 treadmills and a large chunk of floor. Or did you ever see the woman in the trash bag suit, a la Missy Elliott, wearing a terry white head band ACROSS her head (straight across) and white reeboks. Ay-yai-yai.

      • Renee March 1, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

        No more trash bag workouts for me, I guess! 😛

Leave a comment