Pinwheels and Book Deals

4 Mar

I think this is a tangent of Chimp Attack! and my distaste for the naming of news stories.  I apparently also have a strong distaste for the fact that anybody can get a book deal these days for doing pretty much anything (or nothing)!

So, Sully Sullenberg has been offered a bunch of book deals.  I understand that he saved a bunch of lives and did a wonderful thing, but what more of “The Miracle on the Hudson” do we not know?  I mean, the man DID HIS JOB.  That is what it comes down to.  He was trained for this type of incident, and when it happened, HE DID WHAT HE WAS SUPPOSED TO DO.  I guess the more amazing part was that IT WORKED.  But still, a book deal?  Really?  I do my job everyday…and I don’t get a book deal.  Maybe that is what this stems from, maybe I am jealous.  Maybe I want a book deal for rehabbing a particularly difficult post-op shoulder.  I mean, that is some riveting stuff!  

Next, there is Rod Blagojevich.  This one is easier to get fired up about.  He is getting a six-figure deal to tell his story.  Seriously?  Are there no rules in the publishing world?  I mean, this guy didn’t even do his job.  He was so far from doing his job…  He probably would be hard pressed to get another job again…but don’t worry, he can live off his book deal!  WTF?  I can equate this to me dislocating a hip replacement and getting lauded for my screw-up, then getting a book deal.  I don’t understand.  

I think I am also insulted as a reader that publishers think I want to read this crap.  What else is there to tell?  These flippin’ stories have been on the news so much, I could have learned about the stories by pure osmosis.  The problem is, some losers out there WILL read this nonsense.  If you are one of them, I’m sorry, but you are STUPID (maybe you do lat-pull downs behind your head, too!).  Think about this–you buying Blagojevich’s book will fund a corrupt man.  I hope you sleep well at night with that.

This probably all stems from jealousy.  My husband says I read enough books, why couldn’t I just write one.  I say, maybe if I just continue living my life someone will approach me.  It seems the chances are better that way!

2 Responses to “Pinwheels and Book Deals”

  1. Shayla March 4, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    Title: Miracle on the Hudson. I pretty much think we have heard what happened and I cannot imagine what else there is to tell. Will we get to hear about where and how the pilot grew up and where he trained to become a pilot and what went through his head during the landing/crash? I guess I can make the conscious decision to not buy the book and be done with it – tune it out. The real frusration for me lies in the question of, “what is the motivation behind writing this book? and whose motivation is it?” Are people seeing dollar signs …

  2. Jazmin March 5, 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    I totally agree with you…HE DID HIS JOB!!!
    its not like he ran to the back of the plane and carried everyone out one by one. Or inflated the floaty things as he was landing the plane. Im i happy no one died, of course I am. but when another plane crashes and everyone dies, does that mean that plane had a shitty pilot???
    I swear within all the crap I’ve had to deal with in my life, i think i should be asked to write a book!!!!!

Leave a Reply

