Top 25 Books

16 Mar

There was a “100 Books” list circulating Facebook, where you would mark which books you have read.  I had read 30 of them.  I don’t know if they were considered “classics” (I don’t think so), but for someone who usually reads 60-70 books a year, I thought 30% was pretty weak.  One of my friends started the “25 Books” list, which is your personal top 25.  I thought I would share them with you.  These are in no particular order, they are just my 5-star rated choices.  I am not going to elaborate on any, but if you want to know more, just ask me!  (f=fiction, nf=non-fiction

1. To Kill A Mockingbird–Harper Lee (actually this number 1 might actually be my number one of all time…)  (f)

2.  The Pact–Jodi Picoult (f)

3.  Second Nature–Alice Hoffman (f)

4.  The Birth of Venus–Sarah Dunant (historical f)

5.  The Memory of Running–Ron McLarty (f)

6.  The Kite Runner–Khaled Hosseini (f)

7.  A Thousand Splendid Suns–Khaled Hosseini  (I liked this one better than The Kite Runner, but still both 5 stars) (f)

8.  The Secret Life of Bees–Sue Monk Kidd (f)

9.  Me & Emma–Elizabeth Flock (f)

10.  Testimony–Anita Shreve (f)

11.  It’s Only A Mountain–Sam Nall (the AMAZING story of Dick & Rick Hoyt.  Not a great written book by any means, may even be out-of-print, but so inspiring!) (nf)

12.  The Memory Keeper’s Daughter–Kim Edwards (f)

13.  The True Story of Hansel and Gretel–Louise Murphy (historical f)

14.  Girls of Tender Age–Mary-Ann Tirone Smith (nf)

15.  The Double Bind–Chris Bohjalian (f)

16.  I Know This Much Is True–Wally Lamb (f)

17.  The Lovely Bones–Alice Sebold (f)

18.  The God of Animals–Aryn Kyle (f)

19.  A Long Way Gone–Ishmael Beah (nf)

20.  If I Am Missing Or Dead–Janine Latus (nf)

21.  Water For Elephants–Sara Gruen (f)

22.  The Innocent Man–John Grisham (nf)

23.  The Kindness of Strangers–Katrina Kittle (f)

24.  The Good, Good Pig–Sy Montgomery (Similar to Marley & Me, but about a pig…much, much better than Marley though) (nf)

25.  Firefly Lane–Kristin Hannah (f)

 

 


4 Responses to “Top 25 Books”

  1. jamie freitas March 16, 2009 at 7:55 pm #

    loved #11 (have run a few races they have been in- amazing to see them in action!). pathetically i haven’t read nearly 30% of YOUR list… but i have printed it out to keep w/ me… new mission!!!

    • michgal18 March 16, 2009 at 8:02 pm #

      Well, I think it is pretty cool that someone is using MY top rated book list!! I started keeping a book journal in 2005 of all the books I have read and rated on a 5-star scale (I’m a SERIOUS geek). Most of these have been since then, minus a few all-time faves. Let me know if you need any more direction or some elaboration! 🙂 And keep me posted on what you think about any of my list!!!

  2. sheila March 16, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

    definitely agree with #1. Best of all time. Loved memory keeper’s daughter, (lifetime movie, not so much) although pretty depressing book. Began water for elephants and read half of it, but then summer ended & I retuned to work yadda yadda yadda. Will have to try it again. Have you read choke? Demented book-think you’ll love it!

    • michgal18 March 17, 2009 at 8:28 am #

      CONGRATULATIONS SHEILA!! YOU ARE THE 100TH COMMENT!! If I could make confetti fall from the ceiling of where you were, I would!!

Leave a Reply

