All Your Burning Questions…Answered.

1 Apr

So, the blog has taken quite a hit with this whole pregnancy thing!  Basically because it has been the only thing going on in my life but I couldn’t talk about it.  So, I am going to answer all the “typical” pregnancy questions in one shot.  Also, I apologize for all those who do not want my blog to take this turn…but to be honest, this kidney bean (that will make sense soon) is pretty much consuming my life already…so…baby talk it is!

“Wow, how exciting!!  How far along are you??”

Thanks for asking!  I am 8 1/2 weeks along (as of April 1st).  

8-weeks-3d-us3

The baby is currently the size of a kidney bean.  Last week, it was the size of a blueberry.  If you ask me, going from a blueberry to a kidney bean is kind of a downgrade.  I think I liked the kid better as a blueberry.  That’s just way cuter.  Plus, if you had  a choice between a kidney bean and a blueberry, which would you pick??

07-blueberry

08-kidney-bean-11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“How are you feeling?”

Wow, you are so caring!  Actually, I feel pretty good, all things considered.  I have not been nauseous at all!  Yay!  I am ravenously hungry.  I would say I am hungry about 75-80% of my waking hours…and probably about 25% of my sleeping ones.  Eating has kind of become a chore and I am getting a little sick of it.  If you have any suggestions for healthy, tasty and filling snacks, please let me know because I need help getting through my work day.  Sometimes when I wake up to pee in the middle of the night, I can’t fall back asleep because my rumbling belly keeps me up.  I usually eat a granola bar in the middle of the night so I can fall back asleep.  Talk about annoying!!!  The crushing fatigue is no joke either!  Just as a heads up–being a PT is not a pregnancy-friendly job.  It is hard work pretending to be on your A-game when you just want to push the patient off the table and curl up for a quick nap!  My body pretty much shuts down around 2-3pm.  On the weekends I curl up for a hour and a half snooze.  Weekdays, not so much and I just keep on keepin’ on with a fake smile plastered all over my tired face.

“Are you going to find out what you are having?”

It amazes me how EVERYONE asks this question.  I do not want to find out, but my husband does.  People are shocked about this because of my OCD tendencies…but how many TRUE surprises exist in life?  I was wavering after my sister-in-law’s shower seeing all the girl stuff she got and thinking WHAT would people buy you if they didn’t know what I was having.  Then I realized that was silly.  I also laugh when I tell people I don’t want to find out and then they ask “Well, how will you be prepared??”  1.  I am pretty sure either way you cut it, it’s going to be a baby.  2.  No matter if I push out a boy or a girl, I am not going to be prepared.  

“Do you have a preference?  What about your husband?”

We are hoping for a baby.  You know, the kind with two arms, two legs, 10 fingers, 10 toes…the works.  

“Do you have any names picked out?”

Are you kidding me?  There are days when I don’t even know MY name. 

So…yeah…babies.  It is awesome, scary, overwhelming, and amazing all at once.  This week I found out the kidney bean has knees!  KNEES!!  That just boggles my mind.  Something tells me I have a whole lifetime of things that will boggle my mind with this kid, and I can’t wait  (although somedays maybe I can!  Those are the scary, overwhelming days!)

5 Responses to “All Your Burning Questions…Answered.”

  1. Kristen April 1, 2009 at 6:25 pm #

    Smile? Plastered on your face all day? Where do you hide it when I’m around??? Does it tuck neatly into your pocket? It’s ok…I fake it in front of patients, as well…..with you guys ~ not so much 🙂 <—–This is a REAL smile, by the way!
    I am BEYOND happy for you! I can’t wait to see you grow, and grow, and grow! I promise to never comment on the “growing” though!

  2. Lynn April 2, 2009 at 4:06 pm #

    meat seemed to keep me content for a while during the day. i was a big fan of sausage, egg and cheese sandwiches to start my day. that would hold me over until i got to work.

    • michgal18 April 2, 2009 at 4:19 pm #

      meat? lol…like any meat? that just makes me laugh…meat….

  3. Lauren Selker April 3, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

    Congratulations!! 🙂

    • michgal18 April 3, 2009 at 7:46 pm #

      Thanks! Big Adventure….

Leave a Reply

