Shoes Like Mine

16 Jan

I have started reading a couple other “mom blogs”.  It’s a therapy of sorts.  I don’t know what it is about motherhood, as opposed to anything else, that I need to know that other women feel the same way that I do.  Turns out there are many moms out there with the same message as me, just in a different voice.  It’s comforting to know that a woman in Indiana, whom I have never met, also cried on her computer as she wrote about going back to work.  It makes me laugh inside when I read about a mom in Boston who’s bad day just snowballed out of control–not because it is “funny”, but because I have had those days. 

Prior to having my son, I didn’t need to know that other people had the same thought/ideas as me.  I was content to go about my day, thinking my thoughts, and thinking them alone.  Now, knowing that I am not the only one who cries at night because I am another day closer to going back to work is reassuring.  Knowing that I am not the only one who dreads Friday because that means another week has passed makes me think maybe I CAN do this.

My therapy involves reading a comment from a stranger on my blog saying “I understand what you are saying”.  I feel there are some people in my life who say they understand, but unless they are in my shoes (or shoes that look a lot like mine) they don’t fully get it.  It’s nice to be connected to the people in shoes like mine.

2 Responses to “Shoes Like Mine”

  1. Tara January 16, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    Your shoes are tough to be in. I truly envy those moms that don’t have to return to work. I thought of a million reasons to stretch my maternity leaves as long as possible! In the end you will adjust and return to your job….a different person-a mom-but you will be okay! I’ll be here to encourage you anytime you need it. It’s not an easy transition and it comes far to quickly. I truly do understand what you are saying and hope you know if there is anything you ever need I’m here!

  2. Alex January 21, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    I hear you. I’m the main breadwinner and it’s just not an option for me to quit work, and I often feel resentful about that especially when my sis and sis in law are both in the UK with a year off.

    And I absolutely agree about blogging as therapy. I’m planning on starting another blog about motherhood and working. I started back to teaching yesterday and, shockingly, it was okay. I enjoyed interacting with my students and colleagues, even. But I am lucky in that I have a lot of flexibility so I’m about to do a full time week by doing hours at the weekend/evening/etc. Today Im home with Raf.. and it helps to know that every other day I can be his chief caretaker. But it so very hard.

Leave a Reply

