73 years? I’d be 104.

26 Jan

Today, I went to my Grandma’s funeral.  She was 92 years old, and my Grandpa is 95.  They were married for 73 years.  I have never seen my Grandpa cry.  Today, he had giant tears rolling down his cheeks. 

Seventy-three years is literally a lifetime for some people.  Can you stop for a second to think about 73 years?  Think about all that has changed in 73 years–think of cars, phones, TVs, computers, wars, the economy…the list could go on and on.  Here are two people who have lived through more than I can get my head around.  Yet with all that change, they still woke up with each other every day.  Seventy-three years of change and there was always that one constant. 

My Grandpa was asked during this last week what he loved most about his wife, his constant.  His answer? “Everything.”  I love that answer, Everything.  Seventy-three years must leave you with too many things you love to choose just one. 

Carson bringing a smile to his Great Grandpa's face

8 Responses to “73 years? I’d be 104.”

  1. Annette January 26, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    I don’t read your blogs that often. THis one is a keeper.

  2. Kristen January 26, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    I spoke to you today….I actually SPOKE to you and I didn’t even know. I’m sorry for your loss…and I’m sorry to your Grandpa for loosing his “constant.”
    Thinking of you….

  3. Tara January 27, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    Everything…I hope that my husband one day would answer the same way. How sweet. I am sorry about your Grandma.

  4. Paula January 27, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    I’m sorry about the loss of your Grandma. What an awesome story about how long they’ve been married!

    • michgal18 January 27, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

      Hi Paula–thanks for stopping by! I hope you enjoy my blog and come back to visit!

  5. branflakes January 27, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    I’m sorry for your loss. Thank you though for sharing about your Grandparents. I LOVE your Grandpa’s answer!

    • michgal18 January 27, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

      Thanks for your visit! Glad you liked the story…how can you not?

  6. workout mommy February 2, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    oh, how incredibly sad! I can’t even imagine spending 73 years with someone and then having them gone. Hugs to your grandpa and I’m glad your little guy could bring a smile to his face.

Leave a Reply

