The Bottle Battle of 2010 (part 1 of ????)

2 Feb

As you all know, Carson is on bottle strike.  I have become obsessed with bottles, scoping them out every time I am in the store. We were trying the Nuk for a couple of weeks with little success.  I had contemplated the Tommee Tippee bottle, but just couldn’t believe I was going to buy another bottle.  Then I did.  I read about the Mimijumi bottle from The Girl in her Sunday review.  I thought “OMG, this is THE ONE!!  He is totally going to take this bottle.  I NEEEEEEEEEEEEED this bottle.  Where can I get this bottle?  Gimme, gimme, GIMMEEEEEEEEE!!”

Turns out, this bottle is so new, they are only selling the bottle.  Having convinced myself that Carson was going to take this bottle without difficulty, I emailed the company to make sure that the Rate 2 & 3 nipple would be available.  It would be just my luck that he would take the bottle and then I wouldn’t have the nipple he needed down the road.  In the return email I received, I was told that “100 percent of babies who have never taken the bottle take ours so I hope you will have the same results!”  The hubbs and I said “100 percent?  Really? How do they know that?”  

So, during the shipping wait, I was trying not to get my hopes up.  “It’s OK if he doesn’t take this bottle.”  “It is OK that it cost me $25 (with shipping) for a bottle I don’t even know will work.”  “I’m sure he will love this bottle.” 

Well, Mimijumi, the alleged Miracle Bottle, showed up today.  I opened the box and just felt that he would love it.  I mean, look at this box–you just HAVE to feel good about it:  

What a happy little box!

Let’s just cut to the chase here–he didn’t love it.  He didn’t hate it either…but he didn’t love it.  On a bright note–he did latch on, which is more than I can say for many other bottles on day 1.  He probably drank about a half ounce.  Although half of that probably ran down his chin, or bubbled out of his mouth like a small fountain. 

So, we will continue to work on this.  The nipple actually feels more boob-like than any other bottle we have tried.  He has 26 days left to figure this out.  And if he does?  Well, he will be the coolest baby at daycare with a bottle like that.  And also?  He’s going to have to take it everywhere with him, cause he is certainly not getting another $25 bottle!!

4 Responses to “The Bottle Battle of 2010 (part 1 of ????)”

  1. Tara February 2, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    It does LOOK like an amazing bottle and an amazing box. If he likes it you will have to blog it up and see if you can get a freebee…25.00! WTF

    • michgal18 February 2, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

      I know, did you look at all the pics on the website? I just didn’t add them all…but very boobie like!!

  2. cropandscrapdesigner February 2, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    Enjoyed visiting your blog:)

  3. Alex February 3, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    NIce bottle! Raf is not into the bottle either.. he’ll take one when I am not there, though, and enough to stave off hunger. But this is lovely.. I think I may have to take a closer look!

Leave a Reply

