Beautiful Blogger Award

13 Feb

Here’s something to brighten my day.  The Girl nominated me for a Beautiful Blogger Award.  Imagine my surprise when I was reading her blog today and saw ME at the bottom!  Yay–thanks Girl!!

1. Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.
2. Copy the award and paste it to your blog.
3. Tell us 7 interesting facts about yourself.
4. Nominate fellow bloggers that you love and link up to their blog.

Now, on to the 7 interesting things…hmmmm….It’s hard to think of things outside of being a mom these days!!

1.  I played soccer from the age of 7 through college.  I was All-state in high school (Massachusetts) and I was all-conference in college.  I haven’t really played since and I miss it a TON.  It seems like anytime I do play, I simultaneously pull my hamstring and my quad when I kick.  As a PT, I can tell you this is quite a feat.

2.  I am an orthopedic physical therapist.  When I graduated grad school, orthopedics is the last thing I wanted to do, but I took the first job I could find because I was desperate for money.  Now, 7 years later (minus the last 4 months of maternity leave), I really enjoy orthopedics and working with athletes (also minus the part where I want to be a stay-at-home mom). 

3.  I LOVE blogging.  I don’t know what it is about it, but I love it.  Especially since becoming a mom.  I think there is something to putting your feelings out there.  It is nice to hear from other moms who have experienced the same things and it is nice to think that maybe a mom is getting relief reading what I experience and knowing she is not the only one.

4.  I want to run a half marathon.  There.  I said it.  I have been afraid to put this out there, because once I do…well…now there are a bunch of you to hold me to it.  I think this is a good post-baby goal.  My plan is to run the Niantic Bay Half Marathon on Sept 26th.  I am definitely looking forward to running and racing again this year after not doing it last year.

5.  I have known my best friend since she was 2 and I was 3.  She was the maid of honor in my wedding and I am the maid (matron?) of honor in hers.  I don’t know too many people who have had a friend for as long as that!

6.  I am very excited to make my own baby food!  I feel I need to take a little more responsibility for how my family and I eat.  Although if introducing solids goes anything like the bottle, I will probably be breastfeeding this kid until college.

7.  I do the Sunday crossword every week.  I have completed it only once.  I don’t think there is any hope of that happening again any time soon because I have become significantly less intelligent since having my son.  I don’t know what that is all about, but this little boy is sucking my brain along with my boobs!

I don’t think I have to many bloggers that read my blog regularly.  I would love to renominate The Girl because I just love her blog, but I think that is against the rules.  Soo…..I nominate:

Us and Poppet

Bebehblog

4 Responses to “Beautiful Blogger Award”

  1. kim February 13, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    Thanks for all the blog love. I like hearing that people like what i am doing, affirmations are important when you are a stay at home mom.

    ps we are going to make baby food too!

    • michgal18 February 13, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

      Affirmations are important when you are a mom. Period. I try to give all my mommy friends love, because we need it!

  2. jamie freitas February 13, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    love the goal of the 1/2… it was my new years’ resolution last year- and the FIRST NYR that i ever followed through on. Its a great experience… and we are registered for 2 for ’10. (i’d say i’d join you in the Niantic- but we’re in the Maine Marathon one the following weekend!). I look forward to hearing about your experiences… and no disappointment in yourself if you decide to not do it- its for enjoyment, not added stress!!!

    • michgal18 February 13, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

      Hey Jamie!! Too bad you couldn’t join me, that would be some good motivation. Is that the MDI marathon you will be running?? Two Octobers ago is when my sister and I did the MDI team tri and I LOVED it. IDK, maybe we will do it again this year. This would be my first 1/2. I usually only run 5K’s. My first race EVER was a 10K and I wasn’t ready for it and haven’t done one since. I will probably do a couple 10K’s this summer too if everything goes according to plan.

Leave a Reply

