A Day At The Park

6 Mar

Today was the first nice day after an oppressively cold and snow-filled winter.  Carson and I needed a big dose of fresh air and sunshine, so he climbed into the Ergo and we high-tailed it right to the park and beach.  

We were not the only people with cabin fever, and the park was filled with families, kids and dogs.  We started on the grown-up swing.  I don’t know the last time I have been on a swing (to my Ergo mommies–another great use for the carrier–hands free to allow for pumping without having to hold on to your child!), but I could have stayed there forever.  Carson seemed to really like it and I started to get a taste for childhood again! 

There was so many people there that I had to wait for a kid’s swing to open up.  I wasn’t sure how it was going to work with Carson, who isn’t able to sit independently and I had some crazy fear that he would fall through the leg holes in the bucket swing and be stuck dangling, but we gave it a try–and he LOVED it.  He was in that swing for 15-20 minutes, and he would have stayed longer if I let him.  He was so content–he has been super talkative lately, but for our whole outing he was very calm and quiet, taking in all the new sights and sounds.  

Besides breastfeeding, I think this is the best thing I have ever done in my WHOLE LIFE!!

 

After the swing, we walked along the point and down onto the beach.  I started thinking that I had just spent 15 minutes with woodchips digging into my knees watching this little boy swing back and forth and that I was so unbelievably happy.  I had had an idea to try the swing with him, we did it, it worked and he liked it!  It is an amazing feeling to make your child happy.  It is amazing  to watch your child learn, to see him process new things, and to figure out what he likes.  It is amazing to think like a child again.  

I was expecting Carson to fall asleep, the whole outing was about an hour, but he remained wide awake the whole time.  I’d like to think that he was enjoying it all too much to miss anything.  I was enjoying it so much…being out in the sunshine, with the ocean, the sand, the grass.  I thought how lucky Carson is to grow up here and how lucky I am to watch it all.  I also thought, “I can’t wait to come back tomorrow!” 

Enjoying the sunshine, the beach, and each other's company!

8 Responses to “A Day At The Park”

  1. Suzanne March 6, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    Wow, what park did you go to? I would love to take Baby Evan to the beach but we never go since they all seem so faaaaaaar. I LOVE the swing picture, too cute!

    • michgal18 March 7, 2010 at 7:16 am #

      McCooks Park in Niantic–It’s great! It’s free until Memorial Day, then you need a beach pass. But the park is there, they have picnic tables, and there are two beaches on either side of the park, you should definitely check it out!

  2. Frugal Vicki March 7, 2010 at 12:20 am #

    Oh my gosh, my youngest is still little enough to fit in a carrier like that….I am tempted to swing my way to happiness!

    • michgal18 March 7, 2010 at 7:18 am #

      I am not kidding about going back today, and I can’t wait! You definitely should go!! I promise smiles all around!

  3. kimberley5949 March 7, 2010 at 2:57 am #

    I miss going to the park with my kids :(. it’s really been a while since i am working now. Your baby is so cute on the swing .

    • michgal18 March 7, 2010 at 7:19 am #

      I know, I would go everyday if I could, but that damn work thing gets in the way, doesn’t it??

  4. alex March 8, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    What a great day! And, as you know, we took Raf out to the park yesterday to enjoy equally nice weather. Can’t wait for the real spring to arrive.

    Do you guys have the sport’s egro? (we have that and the Beco).

    • michgal18 March 8, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

      Yes, we have the Sport. I wanted that one b/c the hubbs is tall and it has a few extra inches to it…but he never uses it and I usually end up wearing him b/c I love it (i’m baby greedy like that!! :-)) I do love your Beco, tho! I only have another ring sling.

Leave a Reply

