Dear Dairy: A Warning Letter

13 Apr

Dear Dairy,

Please don’t make me do it.  Do not make me break up with you.  Please do not be the reason for my son’s eczema, because I be forced to end our almost 32 year relationship.  I thought things were going so good between us.  But frankly–it’s not me, it’s you.  You, apparently, could be contributing to my Little Man’s super dry and scaly neck, his red knees, his red and bumpy elbows. 

You have one week to shape up.  One week for me to empty out my fridge of all of your delicious goodness.  One more week of the best breakfast ever (cottage cheese, banana nut cheerios, raw almonds, and cinnamon).  One more week of your cheesy goodness.  If Little Man is still eczema-riddled, I will be forced to quit you.  Don’t worry, I will not cheat on you with any of those other “milks”.  You know–rice, almond, soy.  But there will be no break-up sex.  I am telling you right now, you will not be welcomed back into my open bowl, glass, mug, salad, burger for at least another 6 months. 

Heed my warning, Dairy.  This is no idle threat.  I do not want to do it, but I will.  Because Little Man is way more important to me than all your wonderful-ness.  I do not know what I will eat for breakfast.  I do not know what I will do all summer long without you topping my burgers.  But I have been through break-ups before.  And I will be OK. 

I will always love you,

Michelle

6 Responses to “Dear Dairy: A Warning Letter”

  1. Malika April 13, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    You can join my club now! I hope you don’t have to BUT…if you do…it’s a fun little challenge! It’s a whole new world of food options 🙂

  2. Laura April 13, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    hey Michelle, That sucks that Carson has eczema. I ordered those soap nuts because Mia breaks out in hives and I don’t know why.but I saw on the website for the soap nuts that if u boil it into liquid an use in bath it helps with eczema. Might b worth a try.

    • michgal18 April 14, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

      You will have to let me know what you think about the soap nuts!! I read a bunch of stuff about the soap nuts and I didn’t see that part–thanks for the tip!!

  3. alex April 15, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    Honestly it’s not that bad! I am vegan and I don;t really miss dairy. And you should give some of those alternatives a shot! Raf just recently tried coconut yogurt, and he really likes it!

    • michgal18 April 15, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

      Alex–can you give me some quick b’fast ideas? That is what is stumping me the most…

  4. alex April 15, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Here are some things I eat regularly:

    Oats combined with oat bran and flaxseed with more nuts sprinkled on top.

    Semi thawed raspberries and strawberries (sometimes blueberries) topped with chocolate soy milk and nuts.

    Green shake: handful of greens such as kale, blended with frozen banana, soy or almond milk and berries.

    Whole fruit and handful of nuts (usually before the gym, or when I’m running late).

    Toast with nut butter and fruit.

    Larabar and fruit.

Leave a Reply

