When All Else Fails, Serve Up Some Bullet Points

1 Jun

Apparently I am not the only one with writers block.  My blog friends Suzanne and The Girl have both mentioned it lately, so I am going to blame it on the wonderful New England weather we have been having!  Who wants to be on the computer when it is sunny and wonderful outside?!?

That being said, many of you know I unplugged for the weekend.  I needed to step away from the computer and not even think about the internet, blogs, or Facebook.  You would think that that break would fill me with a plethora of wonderful blog ideas.  Or none.  Either way, here I am giving you a requisite super-interesting blog.  I am taking Suzanne’s lead on this one and offering you a wonderfully bulleted recap of my computer-free weekend.

  • Carson has been upgraded to a big-boy car seat.  The hubbs installed them both without pulling any muscles contorting himself in the back seat any problems.  Carson seems to love his new hoopty-ride.
  • Carson has made the decision to break up with the home-made food I have been making for him.  He eats much more with much less struggle when it comes from a jar.  So, organic jarred baby food it is.  Not the first battle I will choose to let him win.
  • We spent Sunday afternoon at a cookout with family friends that haven’t seen Carson recently.  While I do not need people to tell me I am doing a good job with Little Man, it really makes me feel good when someone takes the time to do just that.  Everyone commented on how happy he is and that we must be doing a great job with him.  Surrounded by virtual strangers, he was so content to be playing independently in his exersaucer.  He went from person to person without complaint.  He smiled, he laughed, he made everyone else smile and laugh.  I was so proud of him.  And so happy that people noticed!  And it got me thinking–I love holding Little Man, wearing him, hugging him and kissing him.  Some people may say that I hold him “too much”  (what does that even mean, btw?  Why have kids if you don’t want to hold them?), but I really think all the time we spend together, all the time he spends in my arms, makes him a more confident and trusting little boy.  And I really think this is why he is so laid back and flexible–because he knows if he does need anything, I am right there for him.
  • I think Carson is starting to catch on to giving kisses.  And let me tell you what–that kid can plant his open-mouth, drooly, tongue-y kisses all over me, because nothing makes me happier!
  • Carson went to his first organized walk of every baseball team in the town, followed by a bunch of fire trucks parade on Monday.  We missed all the fun stuff because we were running late since we got stuck in the horrendous traffic of people trying to go the parade while we were just trying to get home.  I told the hubbs Carson is lucky he lives within walking distance of a parade or he may never see one in his life because there is no way in H-E-double hockey sticks I would sit in traffic like that to watch people walk down the street.  Seriously.
  • Turns out a long weekend just makes me want to be a stay-at-home mom even more.  With the summer, there is just so many fun things we can do together.  And Carson is just getting more fun with every passing second.  I miss that kid so much when I am away from him.  It is ridiculous. 
  • Soooo….did I sell him?  Who wants to be our daycare provider come September?  For those that haven’t heard, our daycare lady quit.  Daycare.  Forever.  Grrrrrrrreat.  Honestly, I know I am partial and all but he is pretty much the best kid ever.  Who’s in?  The pay is crap, but he will make up for it with his awesome personality!! 

Like This!

5 Responses to “When All Else Fails, Serve Up Some Bullet Points”

  1. Kristen June 1, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    Hey, I have an idea. Why don’t you run it by Scott and see what he says…I’d LOVE to chill with Carson every single day. M-F from 8-4:30 works BEST for me, but I can be flexible 🙂

    • michgal18 June 1, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

      Yes, I am sure that that would go over well!! 🙂 He could keep paying you too. That would probably be the best arrangement for everyone!

  2. Suzanne June 1, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    LOL at your parade description. We also skipped the one here in town (that goes practically right past my house) because I was napping. I was SO tired, in fact, I slept through the marching bands and the fire trucks. As did the babycakes. Sounds like you had a fun weekend though!

    • michgal18 June 1, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

      Well, since we missed half the parade that is literally all we saw! ha ha, no bands, nothing! Yes, you must be pooped! I can’t even imagine being prego with another one!!

  3. Tarynn June 2, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    Loved it! lol. I would definitely watch the little guy if you werent so far away. 🙂 I think him and Jack would get along great. Well maybe not at first, they would just slap and claw each other out of curiosity. lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

