So Very Lucky

9 Jun

It’s been a crazy week around here.  I have not had much opportunity to take pictures, so there is no Wordless Wednesday this week.  Instead, I wanted to say how truly lucky I feel. 

I read a lot of mom blogs and they direct me to other mom blogs and so on and so on.  Tonight I stumbled upon a blog that a mama wrote today–today, the day her son would have turned one…except he didn’t.  He lived for 4 days. 

I am so lucky.  I am lucky to have my son.  My son is lucky to have me.  We are one incredibly lucky family. 

Carson has been struggling this week with a tooth or two thinking about making an appearance.  We have had a hard time sleeping (yes, we…), he has been cranky, and he has been clingy.  Unfortunately this tooth is probably coinciding with the onset of his separation anxiety (which is pretty mild, honestly) so that compounds the situation. 

Work for me has been crazy, and I don’t know what working moms mean when they say that going to work is a nice “break” from being a mom.  My job is not a break from anything, especially when we are as busy as we have been.  I am tired and for the first time I can tell you that being a working mom is really hard work.  My mind is with my son all work day, wondering if he is feeling OK.  I have a hard time focusing on my job and unfortunately my patients are all probably thinking I am a little loony at this point (telling them how I forgot to wash conditioner out of my hair this morning probably doesn’t help my cause any!!).

But guess what?  I am so lucky.  I am tired, and at times miserable.  Little Man is tired, and at times miserable.  But man, we are so lucky!  I truly feel like the luckiest mama to have such a wonderful little person in my life.  While I don’t talk about, I thank the powers that be every day for the life I have.  I do not take this for granted.  Not one second of it.  There is no reason for me to be so blessed.  But I am.

4 Responses to “So Very Lucky”

  1. Janelle June 13, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    i agree with you. 100% For as looney as it gets attempting to do it all, we’re blessed to have the opportunity!

  2. Janelle June 13, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    After i typed my comment, i clicked on the link to the blog you posted, expecting to get to this blog:
    http://www.rubybaby09.blogspot.com/
    and stumbled on an entirely different blog from a mother who has lost her wee one. i now feel doubly blessed!

    • michgal18 June 13, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

      SO Blessed. I don’t know why I (we) are the lucky ones and others aren’t, but I am so grateful everyday for what I have.

  3. ellejay419 June 14, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    Totally agree.

Leave a Reply

