A Totally Judgmental And Borderline Inappropriate Rant.

18 Jul

**I have been bottling up a lot of anger? resentment? frustration?  I don’t know exactly what it is, but forgive me please as whatever it is comes out verbal diarrhea style all over this blog…**

I was running this morning in the hoity-toity, old money, giant houses on the beach section of town.  I couldn’t tell you what, in particular, I was thinking about at this particular point in my run.  Nothing much, I guess…which is good, because it gave me the remaining 45 minutes to write this blog in my head.  I saw a mom come out of a driveway with her two kids, probably 2ish and 4ish, and her nanny.  I won’t even tell you how I knew the other woman was the Nanny.  That would be the totally judgemental part of this blog.

Let me set the stage a little bit for you…the mom had big Jackie O glasses on, long flowing hair, a beautiful dress on…and the nanny had on shorts and a t-shirt.  My first thought?  Good thing you have a nanny so you can make sure you look your best at 7:30 on a Sunday morning taking a walk on your street.  My second thought?  If you are able to stay home with your children while your rich husband goes off to work, then you know what?  OWN IT.  (Wo)man-up and OWN your motherhood.  Because if you can’t handle your two children on your own, then you shouldn’t have had them.  If you work Monday thru Friday, then by all means, use all of your expendable cash to pay for an in-home nanny.  But DO NOT tell me that you need your Nanny at 7:30 a.m. on Sunday morning so that you are able to take a walk down the street with your kids.

Yeah, I was kind of disgusted by the whole thing.  I don’t think having a lot of money gives you a day-pass on parenting.  When I would give anything to be home with my son, here is this woman who can’t manage an early morning walk without getting all done up (“Nanny, could you please watch the kids while I do my hair for our walk?”) and bringing the Nanny with her.  And you know what, I would even give her the benefit of the doubt if she had 4 kids…maybe even 3 kids (maybe…), but 2??  Two kids are too much for you to handle?  Then you shouldn’t have had two.  Yup, I said it.  Is it judgemental?  Completely.  Do I care?  Nope.  I don’t.  Money should give you the ability to offer your children more opportunities.  It absolutely should not give you the ability to pass the buck. 

I could go on for a long time about this one, but you get my point.  Motherhood, parenting in general, is a privilege.  You should treat it as such.  It starts when you are pregnant, and it should continue through the rest of your lifetime.  As a mom, you are part of a privileged group who has been blessed with the ability to raise another person.  Is it hard sometimes?  You betcha!  Does that mean you should hire a nanny so you can do your hair and make-up on an early and lazy Sunday morning?  Absolutely not.  You know why?  Because your children think you are beautiful no matter what.

3 Responses to “A Totally Judgmental And Borderline Inappropriate Rant.”

  1. Maranda July 18, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    bahahahahaha!!!

    I LOVE it. I totally agree. I hate it when people treat their children like they are only extensions of their ego. “Oh, I have 2 children and I stay home with them.” But you have a nanny? Come on. I know exactly how you feel. I’d kill to be able to stay home with my daughter and not have to leave her everyday to go to a job that isn’t nearly as fufilling as taking care of her- and it angers me to no end when I see ignorant, selfish. rich “mothers” walking around with their child on a leash, screaming, while she’s chatting away on her iphone. It pisses me off.

    Rant on mama!

  2. Kim July 18, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Historically speaking this is right on point. The wealthy have always farmed out the actual raising of their children, pretty much as long as money has existed to create a social ladder. What matters in their children is the genetics, that is their part. Secondly they have the money to afford to pay someone else, probably someone more capable then themselves at raising and educating their children. It’s just how it goes.

    (i’m totally on your side, i feel ya mama, just pointing it out :))

  3. ellejay419 July 20, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    That totally reminds me of the movie The Nanny Diaries. Ugh. Who knows… maybe she even had a surrogate so she didn’t have to be pregnant too. Cheater for sure 😉

Leave a Reply

