Lessons Learned While On Vacation

20 Aug

1.  Water (ocean, pool, water table, tubby, glass big enough to fit a hand), swinging, and reading books can solve most problems that can’t be fixed with a nap.

2.  Poop in the water can make all the problems you were trying to fix come back.

3.  10-month olds can have very strong opinions about things.

4.  Children, unlike adults, can love absolutely unconditionally.  Get all you can while the gettin’s good.

5.  There is absolutely no better feeling in the world than being someone’s favorite person.

6.  Seeing your child’s brain starting to make sense of things is awesome! 

7.  Being proud of yourself starts at an early age.  Hopefully it sticks around for a while, too!

8.  Somehow, it is possible to love more everyday.

9.  It doesn’t really matter to your child if you have wrinkles in your forehead, gray hairs on your head, you didn’t do your hair and you kind of look like crap.  He is still just as happy as ever just to be with you, the most beautiful woman he has ever seen.

10.  I absolutely am not the mother who works because she needs that sphere to feel “complete”.  “Just” being a mom is the most complete I have ever felt.  Make no qualms about it, I work strictly to pay the bills. 

A whole week with this face? YES, PLEASE!!

6 Responses to “Lessons Learned While On Vacation”

  1. acampbell30 August 20, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    What a sweetheart 🙂 Do you think it’ll be in your future to stay at home?

    I think the inevitability of having to work brings about a certain acceptance, which, in some ways, makes me appreciate the work I do. But I would have liked to have stayed at home for at least a year or 2 🙂

    So glad you had a great vacation!

    • michgal18 August 20, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

      No, I don’t think it will ever be an option for me to stay at home, especially since we want to expand the family. So…I just keep on keeping on and complain about it every now and again!

  2. workout mommy August 20, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    awww..he is so adorable!

    and great list—i love #9! 🙂

    • michgal18 August 21, 2010 at 7:26 am #

      I just keep telling myself that as the weeks go by since my last haircut/color and I feel wrinklier by the day! 🙂

      • Lori August 21, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

        Love the list! I’m a whole lot more gray and wrinkly than you are. Let me tell you though, there is no better feeling than crossing that finish line you have trained so hard for and having your sons give you a big hug and a “Great job, Mom.” That look in their eyes (I can’t believe my Mom just did that) is priceless. I can’t wait for you to experience that with Carson!

  3. Janelle August 21, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more with “watching your kid’s brain make sense…” – it still amazes me, and my oldest just turned two. I don’t anticipate that changing anytime soon!

Leave a Reply

