Dear Carson–Month 11

23 Sep

Dear Carson,

I absolutely cannot believe that I am a mom of an almost-one-year-old!  You are becoming such a big boy!

All of a sudden you are really starting to soak up everything you can.  You are learning all sorts of new signs–you now can sign “more”, “all done”, “eat”, “outside” and “book” and you understand the signs for “cat”, “bath”, “swing”, “cookie”, “cracker” and “milk”.  Every day I try to add a new sign to our communication and you seem to excited to learn.  You are also definitely working on your verbal communication.  Daddy and I think you are saying “ball” and I think you are also working on “cat”, “more”, and “fruit”.  You also say “mama” appropriately and are working on “Dada”.  It amazes me how much your language has changed in one month.

You are thisclose to walking.  I tell people that you are a very deliberate person.  It seems like you will not walk until you know that you can do it successfully.  You are definitely getting more confident in your mobility though.  I am certain you will be walking before your one-year birthday.

I have been getting ready for your big first birthday party.  One thing I have done is gone back and looked at your pictures over the past eleven months.  I cannot believe how much you have changed and evolved from this little dependent creature into a inquisitive and fun little boy.  You are so happy and you bring joy to everyone you meet.  I love when strangers comment on your smile, your eyes, your happiness.

This month you have started your separation anxiety phase.  When I leave you at daycare, you cry and fuss a little bit which absolutely breaks my heart.  At daycare they say you are such a Mama’s Boy and I love it.  I know there is a time, probably much sooner than I expect, when I am not going to be your favorite person anymore so I am soaking up every minute of your affection.

I seriously love watching you change from a little baby into a little boy.  Every day you amaze me with something new that you have learned.  You make each day better.  I am looking forward to seeing what more you can accomplish in the last month of your first year, I know the possibilities are endless. 

Lastly–I have my first half marathon coming up in just a few days and I want to thank you…if it weren’t for you I wouldn’t be running this far.  You have opened me up to a whole new world of possibilities.  You have taught me what I am truly capable of.  You have inspired me to be the best and healthiest Mama I can be.  You have happily accompanied me on so many runs and made me better.  I will be racing for me and for you.

I love you, I love you, I love you!

Mommy

2 Responses to “Dear Carson–Month 11”

  1. Suzanne September 23, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    Oh, that was such a sweet post! And he looks so grown up!! Happy 11 months Carson!

  2. ellejay419 September 24, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    So sweet!
    I can’t believe they are almost not babies anymore 😦

Leave a Reply

