Bloggy Catchup

5 Oct

Phew, I have not blogged in a looooong time.  Forgive me, my few hoardes of faithful readers.  As I mentioned in my last little blurb, life is crazy busy with an almost-one-year-old.  Speaking of an almost-one-year-old, does any care to tell me where the last year has gone so quickly?  I have no idea, and it boggles my mind.  Here is some of what’s been going on lately:

  • The Boy is on the brink of walking.  Thisclose.  I mean it.  He will do one or two steps on his own, but really only to me.  He will definitely be walking by his first birthday.  And then you may never hear from me again.
  • I hate viruses.  It’s obviously a no-brainer that you would hate something that renders your happy and energetic child totally and utterly motionless, crying, and moaning in your arms.  It was hard to see him like that, my own 20 pound (I hope!  God, this kid is a peanut) little radiator.  But at least you know there is an end in sight.  The havoc that it has wreaked on the sleep cycles of 2 of the 3 people in this house is truly mind boggling.  The Boy, clearly no Dummie, was much happier sleeping on me, with me, over me, under me and through me than he is sleeping alone.  The Dreaded Virus has left questionable nap lengths and every-two-hour- wakeups-at-night in its wake.  While someone who shall remain nameless sleeps soundly, I have been getting up more times than my friends with newborns.  It is brutal.  (Commence your whispering…YES, my 11 month old doesn’t sleep through the night…and YES I still nurse him at night…and YES I know I should “just let him cry”…and YES I never thought I would be the mom with the 11 month old that doesn’t sleep…and YES I am tired…and YES go ahead and be all judgy about me…).  Let me just say that when you are the ONLY one who does the nighttime parenting, trying to get your child to sleep through the night is a very lonely process.  You question your every decision.  When the other half throws up his hands because “he doesn’t want me”, you may think your very head is going to explode off of your shoulders.  It is hard, truly, truly hard.  But, on a bright note…last night I let The Boy cry (my little heart cannot bear more than about 10-15 minutes of it…), and twice he was back to sleep within 5 minutes!  YESSSSSSSSSSS!!  So, last night I only got up twice.  I will not tell you that the second time I brought him to bed with me at4:30 a.m., lest you get all judgy again.
  • This weeks weather is killing me…rain, rain, rain…and oh yeah, RAIN.  How’s a Mama to run in weather like this?  I MUST purchase The BOB weather shield.  Not sure how much The Boy is going enjoy it…but  I haven’t run since Sunday (it’s only Tuesday, I KNOW) and I am crawling out of my skin.  Also, is it bad that that the only thing I think I am going to put on my Christmas list is running gear?  I need winter stuff.  If anyone loves my blog so much, that you would like to buy me a gift to thank me for helping you waste your time/cope with the travails of motherhood/run, please send me a Dick’s gift card.  Or Road Runner Sports.  Or a Garmin Watch.  Yeah.  Any of those would be great.
  • So, we will be easily making it to the year mark with breastfeeding.  I am not sure when we will start working on the weaning process.  I know what The Boy would say if you asked him: “Ummm, like, NEVER?”  This kid LOVES the boob.  Loves, loves, LOVES.  I don’t know how much I can stress this in order for you to fully understand the magnitude of his adoration.  I will tell you this–the other night I fell asleep in the chair nursing him and woke up FORTY MINUTES LATER, when he finally unlatched.  Now, I am no expert but I am pretty sure Lefty doesn’t have forty minutes of milk in her…which means he was just sleeping on the boob because he loves it so much.  I know that I said he doesn’t need birthday presents, but if someone wants to make him a shirt that says “I heart boobs”, he will wear it with pride.  Seriously, I have no idea how I will ever get this child to break up with his first true love.

Well, that’s all I’ve got for now folks.  Like I said, there are big things coming up.  Also, I am still going to try to get an 11 month Smilebox together, so I will try to post that, just pretend it is 2 weeks ago when you watch it!

9 Responses to “Bloggy Catchup”

  1. Suzanne October 5, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    Evan didn’t sleep through the night until he weaned. Which I thought would NEVER happen but did – very suddenly- around 14 months. Of course, I was also knocked up and my supply took a huge hit right around then. I don’t really recommend a second pregnancy as an effective tool for sleep training – at the MOST it will only work for 9 months before you’ve got a whole new infant to start over with.

    • michgal18 October 5, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

      Thanks!! Sometimes I feel like such a pariah for having an almost one year old who doesn’t sleep thru the night.

  2. ellejay419 October 5, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    😦
    So sorry you have been having a crappy time with the sickness, I can only imagine how horrible it would be.
    B is pretty close to walking also, he took his 1st steps last night and has been practicing today too!
    They grow up too, too fast…

    • michgal18 October 5, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

      Well, on a bright note, Carson is totally back to his normal self minus his sleep patterns. But let me tell you, viruses suck because you can’t do anything about them. Oooh…Braxtyn is a little speed-demon, huh?

  3. workout mommy October 6, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    i love the picture–you both are so cute!

    and no judgy-mcjudgerson over here—my oldest didn’t sleep thru the night until he was FOUR. (yes…4!)

    I swore I wouldn’t spoil the 2nd boy with night nursing, which of course I did.

    and then I double swore I wouldn’t spoil boy3 with night nursing and guess what…. yep…I’m doing it again. So I haven’t slept thru the night in 5 years!

    I too am the only parent at night, so i fully understand that sometimes you just need to do what needs to be done!

    and besides, he won’t always love that boob and snuggle time, so cherish it while you can. 🙂

    • michgal18 October 7, 2010 at 7:52 am #

      🙂 Thank you.

      • Alex October 8, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

        I think you’re doing an amazing job, and, seriously, our culture is obsessed with sleeping through the night but I believe – really and truly – that babies are probably not designed to sleep through the night until they are able to self soothe. And I believe, even more fiercely, that self-soothing cannot be forced, that it’s a milestone more than a learnt behavior. But you know we have a 15 month old who has slept through precisely once, and who LOVES LOVES the milks as much as Carson does. In fact, I am typing while he nurses and doses…

        I do all the night parenting, too, though we cosleep so I sometimes kick my husband awake just so he knows that we are up! But I also want to tell you that it does get easier, and while I havent weaned Raf at night, I am slowing down the feedings by cuddling him rather than nursing him to sleep, and he may cry, but he is in mama’s arms and he does fall back to sleep. My husband does put him to bed, too, by cuddling him, and that seems to be helping.

        If all we had to do was look after these lovely babies then I think we’d fall into the pattern of nursing, not crying it out.. but our lives are so complex and busy and over burdened. You’re doing a tremendous service to Carson, I believe, and I think you should be super proud of yourself for managing this EVEN when you’re exhausted.

        • michgal18 October 8, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

          Aww, Alex…Thank you! I really appreciate all of your kind words. Even though I am not the only one who goes through this, sometimes I feel like I am. It is so good to know I am not alone! 🙂

  4. Kim October 14, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    I’m so behind at posting comments!

    1. Coraline is 13 months and does not sleep through the night. Until about a month ago I had done all of the nighttime parenting, because my DH works and goes to school, until I came to a breaking point and asked for his help. We quickly realized that for daddy, she would go back to sleep in under 10 minutes! She knows that I will not let her cry and she knows that with daddy, she can cry if she wants but it is going to get her no where.

    2. Coraline is obsessed with the boob. No joke…She is on the boob like 100 times a day. When I am sitting here, she will walk up, pull my shirt down and latch on. She learned she could nurse while in the Ergo and now she can not be in the Ergo without nursing. My plan is to let her wean herself, we will see if I still feel that way when she is 2. But I want to night wean as soon as my husband ends this semester of school so he can miss some sleep to help.
    3. I assure you, your running shoes will get way more use when Carson starts walking full force, I feel like I can not chase her fast enough these days. It is also so much more fun!

Leave a Reply

